Eight Months Later – Why I Haven’t Had Entries Here for Awhile

November of 2011, I was diagnosed with metastatic breast cancer. This most unwelcome situation, and the attendant stresses, prevented me from working – not to mention held up my writing. After intense deliberation, I chose to try chemotherapy, which took up several months.

The ‘brain fog’ which accompanies chemo prevents clear thinking, so writing was challenging. Things didn’t go as I hoped. But I did squeeze out a few entries on yet another blog, (when I had any energy) because I simply couldn’t email each individual family member, friend, or client with regular updates. That blog has been read more than 7,000 times to date, and apparently has even helped a few people who are either experiencing cancer themselves, or who have loved ones going through a similar time.

The other blog was initiated by a concerned friend, who knew that when work stopped, savings went, and life was going to change drastically, I’d need support. I started writing on it soon after. And periodically, helpers and worried friends posted as well, especially with regard to fundraising. I am humbled by the outpouring of love, support, gifts and encouragement.

And while I hesitate to share this, for fear of being seen as a ‘victim,’ or of worrying YOU, I think it would be a mistake not to at least share the link once here, so you can decide whether or not you want to check out my cancer journey. I do continue to update things on that blog, however am hoping to return to more (non-cancer related) entries here in the near future. But should I vanish again, the Helping Deb Blog would be the place to check.

While I am not ready to get back to work just yet, I am delighted to share that my book Everyone’s a Guru came out on Kindle in July of this year. View it on the Amazon/Kindle site. Several hundred people downloaded it in just the first week!

AND the print version is due out within a week. You will be able to order your copy soon. Please bookmark my webpage: About the Book and check the usual online booksellers. If you don’t find it at your local bookstore, I hope you’ll ask for them to order it.

Thank you for sharing the journey…
and Shine on!

Debra

About Everyone's A Guru

Debra J. Rigas is the author of the book "Everyone's a Guru" as well as short stories, contributions to a woman's anthology, print magazines, and countless articles on a variety of subjects . An observant life explorer, Debra creates through multiple disciplines. She resides in Northern California and applies variations on spiritual themes in her efforts as writer, editor, filmmaker, gardener, photographer, activist, writing coach and celebrant of rites of passage. For more information, please visit her website: http://www.completewritingcoach.com, the book site: http://www.thalassabooks.com, and/or Join the Author on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Debra-J-Rigas/169730203070079
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment